Sri Lanka to Host India and Bangladesh in T20 Tri-Series Next Year

India and Bangladesh will head to Sri Lanka for a T20 tri-series in 2018, which will take place in March. The series will be played to celebrate 70 years of independence for Sri Lanka, and will be called the Nidahas Trophy.

The Nidahas Trophy

The Nidahas Trophy was first played in 1998, in celebration of 50 years of independence for Sri Lanka. In that series, it was India and New Zealand who rounded out the three teams, with India coming out triumphant. Names including Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Aravinda De Silva and Harbhajan Singh were the stars of the tournament.

Of course, Twenty20 cricket wasn’t even a glimmer in the ICC’s eye at that time, and so ODI’s were played instead. In the final, Tendulkar and Ganguly put on a 253 run partnership to give India a six run victory.

The Series

This version of the Nidahas Trophy will take place between March 8 and March 20, and all games will be played in Colombo. Each team will play each other twice for a total of six games, before a final is played between the two top performing teams.

The tournament will contribute to strengthening the relationships between three of the strongest cricketing nations in Asia, and indeed the world, and both the President of the Bangladesh Cricket Board and the CEO of the BCCI expressed their pleasure at being involved in the tournament.

The Nidahas Trophy will no doubt garner significant interest, given both the populations and the popularity of cricket in the involved nations. There is no such thing as too much cricket, particularly in these nations, and punters will be particularly excited at the prospect of having another occasion with which they can try to outsmart the bookies.

The Teams

Some of the best players in world cricket will suit up to play in this tournament. Virat Kohli will no doubt play a vital role in his team’s success, while fans will be hoping calls for MS Dhoni to step down from T20 cricket have not come to fruition by the time the tournament is played.

Angelo Mathews and Thisara Perera will have major roles to play for the home team, while Lasith Malinga will be hoping to shatter a few stumps (and toes) in the tournament.

Finally, the always improving Bangladesh national team will likely be led by the ever-reliable Shakib Al-Hasan. He will be ably supported by long time teammates Mahmudullah, Imrul Kayes and Mushfiqur Rahim.

More Blog Posts