Asia Cup Betting

The Asia Cup is played as a round-robin tournament, which means that every team in the competition needs to play every other. In the very first tournament there were only three nations, India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka, but over time more were added. Prior to the 2016 tournament, other competitors have included Bangladesh, Afghanistan, the United Arab Emirates and Hong Kong.

The games are played as One Day Internationals, but from 2016 onwards they will be played as both ODIs and Twenty20s.

Best Asia Cup Betting Sites



Welcome Bonus 100% up to $560
Visit AZ, CO, DC, IA, IN, LA, MI, MS, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA, WV & WY only. 21+.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to $1,500
Visit AZ, CO, IA, IL, IN, LA, MI, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA & WV only. 21+.

Asia Cup 2022 Results

Sep 11, 2022
Sri Lanka
170/6 in 20.0
147/10 in 20.0
Asia Cup 2022 - Final Match
Sri Lanka beat Pakistan by 23 runs
Match Center
Sep 09, 2022
Sri Lanka
124/5 in 17.0
121/10 in 19.1
Asia Cup 2022 - 6th Super Four Match
Sri Lanka won by 5 wickets
Match Center
Sep 08, 2022
212/2 in 20.0
111/8 in 20.0
Asia Cup 2022 - 5th Super Four Match
India won by 101 runs
Match Center

Asia Cup 2022 Group A Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
India 2 2 0 4 1.096
Pakistan 2 1 1 2 3.811
Hong Kong 2 0 2 0 -4.875

Asia Cup 2022 Group B Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
Afghanistan 2 2 0 4 2.467
Sri Lanka 2 1 1 2 -2.233
Bangladesh 2 0 2 0 -0.576

Asia Cup 2022 Super Four Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
Sri Lanka 3 3 0 6 0.701
Pakistan 3 2 1 4 -0.279
India 3 1 2 2 1.607
TBC 0 0 0 0 0.000
Afghanistan 3 0 3 0 -2.006
Asia Cup logo


Scheduled to be played once every two years, the Asia Cup began in 1984 as a way to promote goodwill between cricketing nations in Asia who have historically not had the best of relationships. The very first tournament, which was held in the United Arab Emirates, was won by India, after they claimed victory in both of their games.

Bangladesh first joined in 1986, turning a league of three into a league of four, and the most recent team to join was Afghanistan, who played for the first time in 2014. There have been a couple of blips and changes in the tournament’s history. There was no event in 2000, despite there being one two years earlier. This meant that for the first time since its inception in 1984, the Asia Cup participants were forced to wait 4 years for the next tournament instead of two. A decade or so earlier, in 1993, the tournament was cancelled after being scheduled to take place in Pakistan. This was mainly down to the tensions between its biggest team, India, and the host nations, Pakistan.

As the event grew, the format changed, with a more familiar tournament layout being implement.

Best and Worst Teams

Both Sri Lanka and India have won the competition 5 times, with Sri Lanka finishing as the runner-up on many more occasions. Overall, Sri Lanka’s win percentage is also higher than India’s, coming in at over 70%, next to India’s 61%. Sri Lanka also have the edge when it comes to recent performances, winning three of the last 5 tournaments, with India — who have won only 2 of the last 8 — performing at their best during the early years. In fact, of the first 4 tournaments, India won three of them.

Although they have been involved since the very beginning, and are considered to be one of the continent’s best teams, Pakistan have only won the Asia Cup twice. Their first victory was in 2000, prior to which they had only finished as the runner-up on 1 occasion, and they also won in 2012, finishing second again two years later. None of the newer teams have made it beyond the group stage, but Bangladesh have finished as the runner-up on one occasion, when they were beaten by Pakistan in 2012.

Best Players

Ajantha Mendis is one of the most successful bowlers in the tournament and holds the record for the most wickets in a single tournament, claiming 17 in 2008. Few have come close to this record and the second highest score, a total of 14, was achieved by Indian bowler Irfan Pathan in 2004. The first five names on this list are from India and Sri Lanka, with three of the former and two of the latter, showing just how much these two nations have dominated.

Sri Lankan players also have the records for most catches and most dismissals. The latter of these records is held by Kumar Sangakkara, who also holds the tournament record for the most scores of 50 and over, managing a dozen such milestones between 2004 and 2014.

The highest scoring partnership is held by a Pakistan pair, and a Pakistan player, Shahid Afridi, also holds a record for the highest strike rate and for the most sixes. Away from these records though, India and Sri Lanka completely dominate, with the most runs, the highest scores, most fours, the most centuries and more all going to players from one of these two top teams.

They have also picked up more Man of the Tournament awards than most, and the only multiple winners of this award are Navjot Sidhu of India and Arjuna Ranatunga of Sri Lanka, who have won it on two separate occasions.

Share on WhatsApp

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!