Mzansi Super League

The 2010s has been a good decade for domestic cricket. This is a game that has typically been very traditional, relying on leagues that have been going for a long time and not doing much to change things. Thankfully, that is no longer the case. There has been an explosion of cricket leagues all over the world, with Twenty20 competitions popping up everywhere from Australia and New Zealand, to India and the Caribbean. One of the latest additions comes from South Africa.

The Mzansi Super League has generated a lot of interest and looks set to become the biggest cricket league in the South Africa. All major cricking nations need their own domestic Twenty20 competition to be proud of, from the IPL to the PSL. And South Africa now has the Mzansi Super League.

Best Mzansi Super League Betting Sites

$250 Free Bet
New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.
Read Review
Bet Now
$1,000 Welcome Bonus
New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.
Read Review
Bet Now
$520 Free Bet
New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.
Read Review
Bet Now

MSL 2018 Group Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
Cape Town Blitz 10 6 3 30 0.940
Jozi Stars 10 6 4 29 1.295
Paarl Rocks 10 5 5 22 -0.290
Nelson Mandela Bay Giants 10 4 4 21 -0.440
Tshwane Spartans 10 4 6 16 -1.044
Durban Heat 10 3 6 14 -0.716

Mzansi Super League 2018 Results

Dec 16, 2018
Cape Town Blitz
113/7 in 20.0
Jozi Stars
115/2 in 17.3
Mzansi Super League 2018 - Final Match
Jozi Stars won by 8 wkts
Match Center
Dec 14, 2018
Jozi Stars
0/0 in 0.0
Paarl Rocks
0/0 in 0.0
Mzansi Super League 2018 - Eliminator Match
Match abandoned without a ball being bowled (with toss) due to rain
Match Center
Dec 12, 2018
Tshwane Spartans
188/6 in 20.0
Durban Heat
189/8 in 19.5
Mzansi Super League 2018 - 30th Match
Durban Heat won by 2 wkts
Match Center


There are just 8 teams in the Mzansi Super League and overall it’s a very short competition. The first competition began on the 16th of November 2018 and finished on the 16th of December, just 4 weeks later. This makes it one of the shortest domestic cricket leagues in the world, but that’s the beauty of TwentyT20 and it’s one of the reasons so many cricket fans were excited for this tournament to launch.

The Mzansi Super League begins with a double round-robin format, before going into a knockout stage, known as the “Playoffs”.


All teams in the Mzansi Super League are privately owned and represent cities across South Africa. A lot of thought was put into creating these teams and there was also a lot of interest, with more than 150 different applicants expressing their interest in purchasing one of the few franchises.

Like the league itself, the application process was short, with everything finalized and announced during the summer/early-fall of 2018. The league is overseen by Cricket South Africa, which used to go by the name United Cricket Board of South Africa and is the main governing body for both professional and amateur cricket in South Africa.

The chief executive of the CSA, Thabang Moroe said about the establishment of the franchises and teams:

It was a thorough and well-audited process that led to the six winning bids from our members as well as the collective contribution from all stakeholders involved that led to the final names and logos which we also had to make sure met our objectives for this event.

By the way, “Mzansi” is an isiXhosa word, which literally means “south”, but is colloquially used for South Africa as a country.

The League

The six franchises in the Mzansi Super League are:

  • Cape Town Blitz
  • Durban Heat
  • Jozi Sars
  • Nelson Mandela Bay Giants
  • Paarl Rocks
  • Tshwane Spartans

Each team is allowed a total of 18 players in their squad and this squad may contain up to five international players. Any South Africans that are playing in Europe under the Kolpak Rule—which changes the status of overseas players in the game of cricket—are included in this.

The cities represented by the Global T20 League include Benoni, Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Port Elizabeth, Paarl and Centurion. There are stadiums already assigned to the teams due to play and these range from a lowest of 10,000 capacity, which belongs to the Stellenbosch Monarchs based in Paarl, to the biggest of 34,000, which belongs to the Joburg Giants based in the capital.

Older Tournaments

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!