Super Smash Betting

The Super Smash, which also goes by the name Burger King Super Smash, is New Zealand’s answer to the big domestic Twenty20 cricket leagues current sweeping the globe.

It may not be as popular as the Twenty20 leagues found in India, Pakistan and Australia, but it’s still has its fair share of top players and great games.

Know all about Super Smash 2021 scheduled to take place between December 2020 and February 2021

Best Super Smash Betting Sites



Welcome Bonus up to €25
Visit New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.


Welcome Bonus 15% up to ₹4,000
Visit New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.


Welcome Bonus 300% up to €30
Visit New Customers Only. 18+. T&Cs Apply.

Super Smash 2020-21 Results

Feb 13, 2021
Wellington Firebirds
178/5 in 19.4
Canterbury Kings
175/8 in 20.0
Super Smash 2020-21 - Final Match
Wellington Firebirds won by 5 wickets
Match Center
Feb 10, 2021
Canterbury Kings
181/6 in 19.5
Central Districts
180/7 in 20.0
Super Smash 2020-21 - Eleminatory Final Match
Canterbury Kings won by 4 wickets
Match Center
Feb 06, 2021
Auckland Aces
191/10 in 20.0
Wellington Firebirds
230/2 in 20.0
Super Smash 2020-21 - 30th Match
Wellington won by 39 runs
Match Center

Super Smash 2020-21 Groups Points Table

Team Played Wins Losses Points Net Run Rate
Wellington Firebirds 10 9 1 36 1.516
Central Districts 10 6 4 24 0.587
Canterbury Kings 10 6 4 24 0.079
Northern Knights 10 5 5 20 -0.319
Auckland Aces 10 2 8 8 -0.384
Otago Volts 10 2 8 8 -1.484
Super Smash logo

The Super Smash is one of our favorite T20 tournaments going around. It is low-key, does not have the bling of the Big Bash, and the New Zealand international summer goes on alongside which prevents their best players from taking part. Still, the quality of the cricket is amazing and it is quite remarkable to see the kind of depth New Zealand possesses.

Also, the flat pitches and small grounds make for some very high-scoring contests where 220 is reached routinely. 

The Coronavirus pandemic has been dealt with very well in New Zealand and so audiences are allowed to come to the ground and enjoy the action.

Teams of the Super Smash 2020-21

  1. Wellington Firebirds
  2. Canterbury Kings
  3. Central Districts Stags
  4. Otago Volts
  5. Northern Knights
  6. Auckland Aces


The Super Smash is a long tournament since it held alongside international and other domestic cricket fixtures. It starts from the 24th of December 2020 and will culminate with a final on the 13th of February.

The top team after the group stage will reach the Final while the next-two will play each other in an Elimination match to determine the other title contestant. 

Our Predictions

Top-3 teams of Super Smash 2020-21

We think the three teams that will end up at the top of the group are going to be:

  1. Central Ditsricts Stags
  2. Wellington Firebirds
  3. Northern Knights

Winner: Northern Knights

The KNights are slow starters and usually lose a few matches before hitting their stride. They have, however, one of the best T20 lineups in the entire competition. We are talking about players like Tim Seifert, Dean Brownlie, Anton Devcich, Scott Kuggeleijn, and Matthew Fisher in one team.

Zak Gibson is another very good up and coming talent as well who is expected to have a major impact with the ball.

Tim Seifert has established himself as one of the best T20 batsmen in the country and we think there is a good chance that he can lead from the front to lead the Northern Knights to the title. The bowling is a bit of concern but that is true for most teams.

If one of the bowlers can find some form then that issue will take care of itself as well. 

Bet on the Northern Knights to win.

History of the Super Smash League

The New Zealand Super Smash has been held every year since 2005. That may not sound like much, but it means that it is older than many more popular Twenty20 leagues. In that time it has gone through several name changes, some of which are down to a change in structure, while others are all down to the sponsorship, as discussed a little later on.

From the season beginning in 2008 right on through to the season ending in 2014, the winner of the Super Smash was granted access to the prestigious Champions League Twenty20 to take place in the same year that they won the Super Smash title.


There are just six teams in the Super Smash. They begin with a double round robin format, followed by 2 preliminary finals and then the final itself. This format allows for a more open season and gives everyone a chance right until the end. But it still tends to go the way of the team who performed the best through the season and there have been a couple of dominant teams in the history of the Super Smash.

Each team in the Super Smash is allowed a maximum of 2 international imports. This is fewer than several other top leagues and helps to keep many local players in the league, where they can grow and become stars for the New Zealand cricket team. Or, as the case may be, where they can get noticed and then be shipped off to play in India, England or Australia


The winner of the very first season of the Super Smash was the Canterbury Wizards, who won by 6 wickets against Auckland Aces in the final. The Aces made up for their close call in the second season when they beat the Otago Volts to win the second ever Super Smash season.

Between 2006 and 2017, they would go on to win the Super Smash title several more times and are one of the most successful teams in the competition. Their best years arguably came between the years of 2010 and 2012, when they won two titles and claimed 1 runner-up place in just 3 seasons.

The Aces are generally there or thereabouts come the end of the season, although in recent years they have been bettered by teams like the Wellington Firebirds, who claimed the 2014/2015 title and then did the same in 2016/2017.

Sponsors and Broadcasters

The main sponsor of he Super Smash typical comes before the name of the competition. In 2017 and 2018 this was Burger King, which is why it was commonly known as the Burger King Super Smash. Prior to this it has been known as the McDonald’s Super Smash and Georgie Pie Super Smash.

There aren’t many TV channels that show games from he Super Smash, but if you are in New Zealand then you can watch through Sky Sport (not to be confused with Sky Sports in the United Kingdom). You should also be able to find live steaming matches online, as well as live matches on some sporting channels in Australia and basically anywhere cricket is popular.

Share on WhatsApp

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!