T20 Global League Betting

The 2010s has been a good decade for domestic cricket. This is a game that has typically been very traditional, relying on leagues that have been going for a long time and not doing much to change things. Thankfully, that is no longer the case. There has been an explosion of cricket leagues all over the world, with Twenty20 competitions popping up everywhere from Australia and New Zealand, to India and the Caribbean. One of the latest additions comes from South Africa.

The Global T20 League has generated a lot of interest and looks set to become the biggest cricket league in the South Africa. All major cricking nations need their own domestic Twenty20 competition to be proud of, from the IPL to the PSL. And South Africa now has the Global T20 League.

Best T20 Global League Betting Sites



Welcome Bonus 100% up to $560
Visit AZ, CO, DC, IA, IN, LA, MI, MS, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA, WV & WY only. 21+.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to $1,500
Visit AZ, CO, IA, IL, IN, LA, MI, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA & WV only. 21+.
T20 Global League logo


There are just 8 teams in the Global T20 League and overall it’s a very short competition. The first competition began on the 3rd of November 2017 and finished on the 16th of December, just 6 weeks later. This makes it one of the shortest domestic cricket leagues in the world, but that’s the beauty of TwentyT20 and it’s one of the reasons so many cricket fans were excited for this tournament to launch.

The Global T20 League begins with a double round-robin format, before going into a knockout stage, known as the “Playoffs”.


All teams in the Global T20 League are privately owned and represent cities across South Africa. A lot of thought was put into creating these teams and there was also a lot of interest, with more than 150 different applicants expressing their interest in purchasing one of the few franchises.

Like the league itself, the application process was short, with everything finalized and announced during the summer of 2017. The league is overseen by Cricket South Africa, which used to go by the name United Cricket Board of South Africa and is the main governing body for both professional and amateur cricket in South Africa.

The League

The eight franchises in the Global T20 League are:

  • Benoni Zalmi
  • Bloom City Blazers
  • Cape Town Knight Riders
  • Durban Qalandars
  • Joburg Giants
  • Nelson Mandela Bay Stars
  • Pretoria Mavericks
  • Stellenbosch Monarchs

Each team is allowed a total of 18 players in their squad and this squad may contain up to five international players. Any South Africans that are playing in Europe under the Kolpak Rule—which changes the status of overseas players in the game of cricket—are included in this.

The cities represented by the Global T20 League include Benoni, Bloemfontein, Cape Town, Durban, Johannesburg, Port Elizabeth, Paarl and Centurion. There are stadiums already assigned to the teams due to play and these range from a lowest of 10,000 capacity, which belongs to the Stellenbosch Monarchs based in Paarl, to the biggest of 34,000, which belongs to the Joburg Giants based in the capital.

Share on WhatsApp

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!