Tri-Series Betting

The Tri-Series is a hotly contested series of games that first took place in 2017-18. There are many great events, tours and more on the cricket calendar that offer something new, something unique and something exciting, and Tri-Series is an event that deserves to be included on that list.

In this guide we look at the Tri-Series in more detail, discussing what it is, when it is contested, who it is contested between, and what sort of format it uses. If you want to learn more about the cricket Tri-Series, then this is the guide for you.

Best Tri-Series Betting Sites



Welcome Bonus 100% up to $560
Visit AZ, CO, DC, IA, IN, LA, MI, MS, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA, WV & WY only. 21+.


Welcome Bonus 100% up to $1,500
Visit AZ, CO, IA, IL, IN, LA, MI, NJ, NY, PA, TN, VA & WV only. 21+.

UAE Tri-Series 2023 Results

Mar 27, 2023
116/10 in 18.4
182/7 in 20.0
UAE Tri-Series 2023 - 3rd T20 Match
Pakistan won by 66 runs
Match Center
Mar 26, 2023
133/3 in 19.5
130/6 in 20.0
UAE Tri-Series 2023 - 2nd T20 Match
Afghanistan won by 7 wickets
Match Center
Mar 24, 2023
98/4 in 17.5
92/9 in 20.0
UAE Tri-Series 2023 - 1st T20 Match
Afghanistan won by 6 wickets (with 13 balls remaining)
Match Center
Tri-Series logo

The History of the Tri-Series

The first Tri-Series took place in 2017 to 2018 and was known officially as the 2017/18 Trans-Tasman Tri-Series. It was contested between three major cricketing nations: England, Australia and New Zealand, and formed a conclusion to the Ashes Series that was held the same year.

The Ashes, which has been contested between England and Australia since 1882, is one of the oldest and the most celebrated cricket tournaments in the world. It is fiercely contested, with the winner claiming what amounts to one of the smallest trophies in the world of international sport. This “trophy” is actually a small urn that is said to contain the “ashes” of a burnt cricket ball.

In 2017-18, the Ashes was won by Australia, who whitewashed England. The Tri-Series took place afterwards, with New Zealand being added to the mix. The format was a group stage and then a final, and in this case it was New Zealand and Australia who contested the final, with the Aussies walking away as the eventual winners.

This first Tri-Series match was also preceded by a game between the Prime Minister’s XI, which is an Aussie team that is selected by the Australian Prime Minister, and England XI, which is the normal England cricket team. This is a tradition that dates back several decades and has nearly as much history as the Ashes itself. On this occasion the game was won by England, who comfortably won by 8 wickets following a short 20-over contest in the Aussie capital.

The Format of the Tri-Series

There is no set format or structure for the Tri-Series. The event that we discussed above was actually the first ever Tri-Series to be played by full ICC members, but more have occurred since. “Tri-Series” has simply become the name for a cricket competition that is contested by three cricketing nations, with an emphasis on those that are also full ICC members.

It may be played as part of a tour, it may not. However, due to the nature of international test cricket and the fact that teams only usually play outside of major events when they are touring, tour Tri-Series are more common. Typically, the events will follow a structure that was used during the inaugural Tri-Series, which is to say they will begin with a small group stage, after which the top two teams play each other in a final.

Share on WhatsApp

Free Cricket Betting Tips

Sign up to our newsletter and receive daily FREE cricket betting tips and betting offers to your email!